International battle of the pop bands

30 August 1983

From the Guild Hall, Preston David Jensen introduces the first international Battle of the Pop Bands. The groups from throughout Europe have been competing over the past months to arrive at this final and represent their country.

Kim Wilde, Robin Gibb, Paul Gambaccini, Carlene Carter and Tony Visconti make up the panel of judges at the Guild Hall in Preston, where Sugar Ray Five, The Nits, Marc Seeberg, Broadcast, Mecano and The Days are competing for the TDK Trophy.